dansa logo

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing your browsing habits. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can change the settings or get more information. "here"



Gisèle Vienne

90 minutes



An unnerving piece for fifteen dancers that examines our darkest side.

This piece for fifteen dancers is a meditation on love and violence at a cathartic rave, in which the young people give themselves over to electronic music. An unnerving piece that examines our darkest side. “The intensity of the music and the emotion that brings these people together in this place are the perfect storm for a sort of emotional roller coaster or, more specifically, a large number of interconnected disorders,” Vienne explains. For several years, the artist has been interested in people’s dark side and our need for violence.

Gisèle Vienne is a French-Austrian choreographer, stage director and visual artist. She regularly works with the author Dennis Cooper and the musicians Peter Rehberg and Stephen O’Malley. Over the past twenty years, she has toured Europe on several occasions and her works have been performed frequently in Asia and America. Her photographs have been exhibited in museums such as the Whitney Museum of American Art in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, and the Museo Nacional de Bellas Artes in Buenos Aires.

The company will be holding a discussion following the performance on Friday, 17 March and a discussion before the performance on Saturday, 18 March, at 7.00 pm.

Data sheet

Concept, choreography and stage design: Gisèle Vienne - Assisted by: Anja Röttgerkamp, Núria Guiu Sagarra - Written by: Gisèle Vienne, Dennis Cooper - Performed by: Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rehin Hollant, Oskar Landström, Theo Livesey, Katia Petrowick, Louise Perming, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg, Tyra Wigg (alternating with Lucas Bassereau, Núria Guiu Sagarra, Georges Labbat, Maya Masse, Linn Ragnarsson) - Musical selection: Underground Resistance, KTL, Vapour Space, DJ Rolando, Drexciya, The Martian, Choice, Jeff Mills, Peter Rehberg, Manuel Göttsching, Sun Electric, Global Communication - Playlist selection and editing: Peter Rehberg - Sound diffusion: Stephen O’Malley - Sound engineering: Adrien Michel - Lighting: Patrick Riou - Production: DACM - Co-produced by: Nanterre-Amandiers, Centre Dramatique National; Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg - Scène Européenne; Wiener Festwochen; manège, Scène Nationale - reims; Théâtre National de Bretagne; Centre Dramatique National Orléans/Loiret/Centre; La Filature, Scène Nationale - Mulhouse; BIT Teatergarasjen, Bergen - Supported by: CCN2 - Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble and CND Centre National de la Danse

Planned functions


Mercat de les Flors – Sala MAC
17 March at 20:00 h
Mercat de les Flors – Sala MAC
18 March at 20:00 h
Mercat de les Flors – Sala MAC
19 March at 18:00 h