dansa logo

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services by analyzing your browsing habits. If you continue browsing, we consider you accept its use. You can change the settings or get more information. "here"

dansa logo


Kukai Dantza

50% off for buying a second ticket

The winner of three 2017 Max awards for the best dance show, cast and wardrobe design, Oskara is the happy conjunction of two choreographic universes and two visions of dance that could have proved hostile to each other—one looks back to the more popular roots of the discipline, while the other focuses on avant-garde trends—but which instead feed into each other. Oskara is a staged installation that explores chapters and legends in Basque culture, from its origins to the present day, an artistic and emotional path dotted with symbols and with an unnerving iconography that explains human history and experience.

Awarded the 2017 National Dance Prize, Kukai Dantza was created by the choreographer and dancer Jon Maya Sein in 2001. The company works on his creations based on traditional Basque dance, proposing encounters with other dance styles and collaborative undertakings with renowned artists.

Their works include the highly acclaimed shows created with Tanttaka Teatroa and collaborative pieces produced with choreographers such as Cesc Gelabert, Israel Galván, Jone San Martín (The Forsythe Ballet), La Intrusa Dansa and Marcos Morau, the founder of La Veronal, a collective of artists from the fields of dance, cinema, literature and photography that constantly seeks out new artistic languages.

Schedule shows

L'Hospitalet de Llobregat

Teatre Joventut
10 March at 20:00
Teatre Joventut
11 March at 19:00

Show details

60 minutes
Jon Maya Sein
Choreography and stage direction
Marcos Morau / La Veronal
Pablo Gisbert
Live singer
Thierry Biscary
Alain Maya, Eneko Gil, Ibon Huarte, Martxel Rodríguez and Urko Mitxelena
Musical creation
Xabier Erkizia and Pablo Gisbert
Choreography assistants
Lorena Nogal and Marina Rodríguez
Iraia Oiartzabal
Lighting design
David Bernués
Sound design
Ángel Agüero

Image gallery